The direction, control, supervision, overall management and performance of the Centre and the planning and implementation of centre activities are the responsibility of the Director and Deputy Director. They are assisted by two Associate Directors, one for each node of the Centre. The Director is to be a Melbourne University Law School employee of an academic rank not lower than Associate Professor or his or her delegate. The Deputy Director is to be an ADF Legal Officer of a military rank not lower than Lieutenant Colonel (or equivalent rank) or his or her delegate.


Professor Tim McCormack (2001 to April 2009)

Professor Stuart Kaye (April to December 2009)

Professor Gerry Simpson (from January 2010)

Professor Bruce Oswald (from January 2014)

Deputy Director

COL Mike Kelly (2001 to December 2004)

LTCOL Geoff Cameron (January 2005 to June 2006)

CAPT Dale Stephens RAN (July 2006 to July 2008)

WGCDR Ian Henderson (July 2008 to December 2009)

WGCDR Edward Eather (January to December 2010)

GPCAPT Alan Hemmingway (January to December 2011)

GPCAPT Ian Henderson (from January 2012)

CMDR Fiona Sneath (from January 2015)

CAPT Darryn Mullins RAN (from January 2017)

COL S.C.A (Arun) Lambert CSC (from January 2018)

Associate Director University node

Bruce Oswald (2001 to June 2007)

Professor Stuart Kaye (July 2007 to April 2009)

Associate Professor Alison Duxbury (April to December 2009)

Professor Tim McCormack (January to June 2010)

Associate Professor Alison Duxbury (July 2010 to December 2012)

Professor Tim McCormack (January to June 2013)

Associate Professor Alison Duxbury (from June 2013)

Associate Director Military node

LTCOL Paul Muggleton (2001 to July 2008)

Mr Peter Jeffrey (August 2008 to December 2011)

Ms Suzanne Varrall (from August 2012 to June 2016)

Ms Eva Lasky (Acting from January to June 2017)

Ms Grace Corbiau (from July 2017)